Scholarship Info

The fund was established in 1950 in honor of Margaret Keldie, a member of the Chicago Chapter of the American Society of Women Accountants, who had passed away about a year before. Margaret Keldie was a native of Edinburgh, Scotland, and came to Chicago to live with an aunt after the death of her parents.She obtained her first job in the accounting department of the Chicago Daily News. From 1934 until the time of her death, she was employed as the manager of the accounting department at Pabst Blue Ribbon Distributing Company.Margaret Keldie’s name was chosen for the scholarship fund because she was a competent accountant, a conscientious employee, a fine woman, and a loyal member of the American Society of Women Accountants. She personified the ideals of the Chicago Chapter.The purpose of the fund is to encourage capable women students who plan accounting careers to continue their studies by providing financial assistance. A trust was established in 1956, and tax exempt status was received from the IRS in 1959.The Fund is administered by a board of three Trustees, elected from the Chapter membership for staggered threeyear terms.The fund is supported by the regular contributions from the Chapter members. Gifts have been received from Corporate Sponsors and member bequests. The fund has awarded 251 scholarships valued at $134,750.

Scholarships to full-time and part-time Junior, Senior, and Graduate students are available to women students intending to pursue a career in accounting. They are offered by the Margaret Keldie Scholarship Fund, which is supported by the Chicago Chapter of the American Society of Women Accountants. The purpose of these scholarships is to encourage capable women to continue their accounting studies.Selection criteria include the student’s academic record and potential contribution to the accounting profession. Selection is also based on review of the college transcript and required reference letters, and a personal interview. Applicants are not evaluated on financial need. All eligible women students of accounting are urged to apply. Applications must be postmarked by February 25, 2010. Awards will be announced in June 2010. Recipients must be full-time or part-time students for at least one semester/quarter after June 2010.

Congratulation to this year’s scholarship winners.

Ms. Jaclyn M. Morgan Olivet Nazarene University

Ms. Rachel E. Jones Illinois State University

Margaret Keldie Scholarship Fund Trustees

President                                 Dolores La Valle 

  Secretary                                 Pamella Metz CPA

Treasurer                                 Myra Swick CPA

You may contact the Foundation Board at the following email address: